The Wooden Award watch list came out a couple weeks ago, and despite some pretty obvious oversights, they did manage to identify a pair of Syracuse Orange players as worthy candidates.

The Naismith Award mid-season watch list has just been released and both Tyler Ennis and C.J. Fair again make the cut. The Naismith identifies 30 potential winners, as opposed to only 25, and they also have the benefit of a few more weeks’ worth of games to work with. That being said, here is their much more accurate assessment of the top 30 players in college basketball:


·                            Kyle Anderson, UCLA

·                            Keith Appling, Michigan State

·                            Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico

·                            James Bell, Villanova

·                            Bryce Cotton, Providence

·                            Cleanthony Early, Wichita State

·                            Melvin Ejim, Iowa State

·                            Joel Embiid, Kansas

·                            Tyler Ennis, Syracuse

·                            C.J. Fair, Syracuse

·                            Aaron Gordon, Arizona

·                            Gary Harris, Michigan State

·                            Joe Jackson, Memphis

·                            Nick Johnson, Arizona

·                            DeAndre Kane, Iowa State

·                            Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati

·                            Roy Devyn Marble, Iowa

·                            Doug McDermott, Creighton

·                            Shabazz Napier, Connecticut

·                            Jabari Parker, Duke

·                            Lamar Patterson, Pittsburgh

·                            Casey Prather, Florida

·                            Julius Randle, Kentucky

·                            Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State

·                            Russ Smith, Louisville

·                            Nik Stauskas, Michigan

·                            Xavier Thames, San Diego State

·                            Fred VanVleet, Wichita State

·                            Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

·                            Chaz Williams, Massachusetts



Crieghton’s Doug McDermott is going to win all of the awards, but the race for second should be fun.